Hidden Wonders of Australia

As you all know, Australia is the place I call home. Australia is full of natural beauty and a tropical climate. Almost every tourist who has ever travelled to the ‘Land Down Under’ has visited the Sydney Harbour Bridge and Opera House or Uluru (or has at least heard of them!).

If you want to explore the ‘touristy’ side of Australia, please check out my post here: (8 Places In Aus That Will Astound You).

Now to explore the hidden wonders of Australia…

visitmelbourne.jpg
Photo: Visit Melbourne

Try…hot air ballooning over the Yarra Valley.

I’m going to admit, this isn’t an entirely new idea. I read about this a while ago and I just fell in love with the idea!

Victoria’s Yarra Valley is a beautiful wine region and what better way to explore the greenery than from above? Plus, when your feet touch land again, why not treat yourself to a sneaky champagne or, if you have a sweet tooth like me, some chocolate at the chocolateries.

There’s so much more to do than taste wine, so check out their website (https://visityarravalley.com.au/).

tourismaustralia.jpg
Photo: Tourism Australia

Try…exploring Australia’s rainforest in Queensland.

Queensland’s Hinterland takes you far away from the hustle and bustle of the city; the glitz and glamour of Surfer’s Paradise.

Forget about the massive theme parks and giant skyscrapers, and focus instead on the dense rainforest tranquillity.

In Hinterland, why not explore the canopies of Mount Tamborine or Lamington (how Australian!) National Park, through the elevated skywalks provided. The skywalk provides some seriously Instagram-worthy pics, with lush greens and a gorgeous waterfall provided a barrio to the outside world.

I’m not a big ‘nature’ person, but seeing all these pictures gives me major FOMO!

tourism aus.jpg
Photo: Tourism Australia

Try…Kakadu National Park.

Kakadu National Park in the Northern Territory is the Australian outback at its finest. Red rocks and over 2,000 different species of plants are on display here, not to mention Australia’s rich indigenous history.

You see, it’s not just rocks and plants; it’s an opportunity to explore the history of Australia, through tours, walks, boat cruises and even scenic flights! With a chance to see some crocs (that’s Aussie slang for crocodiles), why not see something new at Kakadu? (I’m sorry that rhyme was incredibly cheesy!)

discover tasm.jpg
Photo: Discover Tasmania

Try…Tassie’s Cradle Mountains!

The ‘Down Under’ of errm… Down Under… is the state of Tasmania. Once again, Cradle Mountain’s feature some of Aus’ great flora and fauna. With glacial lakes and small waterfalls lining the path, it’ll be sure to leave you in awe.

Plus, you may even catch a glimpse of Tasmania’s official mascot, the Tassie Devil at Cradle Mountains. Devils At Cradle (http://www.devilsatcradle.com/) offers a unique experience called ‘Dine with the Devil’. This experience though is a bit on the pricier side ($99), but I can see would definitely be worth it! During the experience, you will be able to wine and dine whilst exploring the Devils’ habitat, the Cradle Mountains.

Plus, a campfire is provided, adding to the ‘Aussie’ ambiance. But be warned – only persons aged 16 and over can experience ‘Dine with the Devil’!

tourism australia.jpg
Photo: Discover Australia

Try…South Australia’s Kangaroo Island.

I am ashamed to say that I have not travelled to Kangaroo Island, being South Australian. Needless to say, it’s always been on my list, but I’ve never gotten there!

Kangaroo Island is notorious for its wildlife conservation parks, so you may find some seals along the share on one of the many wildlife tours. Or, if you want to try something more adventurous, Kangaroo Island offers quad biking, paintballing, kayaking and even horse riding!

Qantas will be offering flights to Kangaroo Island from either Adelaide or Melbourne, starting December 2017.

viator.jpg
Photo: Viator

Try… getting close and personal with little penguins.

Located 45 minutes south of Perth, Western Australia, Penguin Island is a picturesque island surrounded by clear water and marine life. As a penguin lover myself, this is a must see, and it’s definitely on my list!

Talk about a cuteness overload! While at Penguin Island, you can visit the world’s smallest penguins! Or, if penguins aren’t your thing, you can cruise around the island and go dolphin spotting or see sea lions up close!

With opportunities such as swimming with dolphins or kite boarding, its more than just a “penguin beach”.

pro dive lord how island.jpg
Photo: Pro Dive Lord Howe Island

Try…Lord Howe Island.

This world heritage-listed island features some of Australia’s most spectacular surroundings, perfect for hiking and exploring. Lord Howe Island takes just under two hours to fly to, from either Sydney of Brisbane.

I can see why they call it ‘just paradise’; the photos I’ve seen are exquisite! The island is, according to Lord Howe Island’s website, an eroded remnant of a 7-million-year-old shield volcano – pretty cool, eh?!

Plus, the island is fairly secluded, with only 400 visitors on the island at a time, so whether you are snorkelling, hiking, fishing or birdwatching, you are almost guaranteed to have a peaceful atmosphere.

Try…Canberra’s attractions.

I’ve only been to Canberra once (as part of a school trip), but I remember my friends and I had the time of our lives at the state’s attractions – the Australian Institute of Sport, and the ‘sciency’ Questacon.

I’m gonna be honest, none of these are my scene, but I thought my uncoordinated, nerdy self would enjoy Questacon more. I was surprised that I thoroughly enjoyed both. Both are extremely interactive, perfect for families with children. You don’t have to be a jock to have fun at the Institute, or smart to go to Questacon; so don’t let that throw you off.

Hey, if I (the most unathletic person ever) can have fun at the Institute, that’s saying something! I’ll spare you the horror of seeing my year 9 self in Canberra, so please enjoy the photos that do not feature my face at all!

I definitely recommend have some fun while in Canberra, despite the state being government headquarters.

 

There you go! Some (perhaps) hidden wonders you’ll find in every state of Australia. As always, get travelling people!

2 thoughts on “Hidden Wonders of Australia

Leave a comment