8 Places In Aus That Will Astound You

I am proud to be an Australian, and always excited to see what my country has to offer and what makes it unique.

For those who live overseas or even those who live here, I really encourage you to explore the history and monuments that the land down under provides.

thousandwonders.jpg
Photo: Thousand Wonders
  1. Uluru

There is nothing more Aussie than Uluru. Uluru, for all Australians, celebrates and commemorates our Indigenous community and their long heritage with the land. Uluru is pretty much the heart of Australia, both figuratively and literally (it’s in the centre of Australia!).

For anyone who’s ever seen the Grand Canyon, Uluru has got the same appeal. It is one of the wonders of Australia, and is definitely a must see!

wallpaperSafari.jpg
Photo: Wallpaper Safari
  1. Sydney Harbour Bridge and the Opera House

These two landmarks go hand in hand – you can’t see one and not the other! These two landmarks are another of Australia’s best places to explore, and the architecture is simply stunning. I visited Sydney a couple of years ago and we took a ferry around the Harbour, seeing all the sights in less than an hour. If you are pushed for time, this may be an option for you. The harbour is gorgeous and, as touristy as it is, the Sydney Harbour sights are a must see!

One thing I really regret not doing while I was there was climbing the Sydney Harbour Bridge! Being an iconic sight of Sydney, it is definitely a must-do activity, with a really satisfying reward. For those thinking about climbing the Bridge, don’t chicken out like I did – take the plunge and climb it! From what I’ve seen through pictures, the final vantage point provides the best unobstructed view of Sydney that can’t be found anywhere else.

  1. The Great Ocean Road

The Great Ocean Road stretches over 243 kilometres of road along the south-eastern coast of Victoria and is a great excuse for a small road trip!

This coastal drive is as scenic as they come, with the climax being the Twelve Apostles (unfortunately some have since perished). But don’t just stay in your car the whole time – get out and explore the Great Ocean Walk. Explore the surf and sand of the coast, or get up close and personal with kangaroos, emus and koalas at Tower Hill.

P1020255.JPG
Photo: My own.
  1. The Australian War Memorial

The Australian War Memorial is a building of pure serenity and reflection. The sandstone brickwork is simply breathtaking, and rightly so. If anyone here read my sister piece (Hidden Wonders of Australia), you’d know that I went to Canberra when I was in year nine, five years ago. I can say that it is a perfect memorial to commemorate and respect those who have fought and died for Australia.

You know me by now, I am an architecture nut, and the architecture was stunning – the arches and the water feature out the front of the building that encapsulating the eternal flame that burns was almost poetic. The exhibits, Roll of Honour and the Tomb of the Unknown Australian Soldier all provide a cathartic experience that is second-to-none.

furnishedproperty.jpg
Photo: Furnished Property
  1. Bondi Beach

Perhaps one of Australia’s most famous beaches is Bondi Beach. I mean, we’ve got so many shows dedicated to Bondi alone; Bondi Vet, Bondi Beach…

But you can see why it is cemented into Australia’s culture. It’s simply a one-of-a-kind beach, perfect for anyone, from families to solo surfers. Plus, with plenty of attractions around the beach, it’s easy to plan a full day at Bondi.

  1. Ballarat

Ballarat, located in Victoria, is once again a one-of-a-kind place in Australia that will wow you! Ballarat is home to Sovereign Hill, a museum dedicated to the 1850’s Australian Gold Rush period. But wait – don’t quit on me now! I mean, I love all museums, but this one’s fun and interactive!

I briefly remember visiting when I was only five or so, so some of the details are a little fuzzy. Even so, I remember having so much fun! You can take your picture like they did in the olden days which is super cool! (But I cannot for the life of me find!)

You can even go digging for gold – hey, I’m not sure you can become a millionaire on what you will find, but it’s a start! Or, at least a good souvenir.

While I’m talking about Sovereign Hill, can I just say that the huge lollipop I had there was absolutely delicious! I’m not even sure they still do those rainbow swirly lollipops, but I just thought I should mention it!

bluemountains
Photo: Blue Mountains Australia
  1. Blue Mountains

The Blue Mountains, located west of Sydney, is known for its beauty and dramatic scenery.

The Blue Mountains is more than just rocks and nature. The Mountains also host a wide variety of attractions perfect to fill an itinerary. From festivals, to abseiling, the Blue Mountains offers as many different experiences of the region as possible, free to explore your way. They even have a cinema!

My personal favourites are the cave exploration and Scenic World experiences! The Jenolan Caves are a perfect opportunity to explore the Blue Mountain region, through your choice of 10 caves! The latter, the Scenic World experience, invites you to explore the Blue Mountains from a distance in a cable car. Oh my, my mum would freak at this! Being a bit more adventurous myself, the Scenic Cableway would be perfect! Being the largest and steepest aerial cable car in the Southern Hemisphere, the cable car travels 545 metres through Jamison Valley, providing ideal observation points for the Three Sisters.

sbs tv.jpeg
Photo: SBS TV
  1. Great Barrier Reef

The Great Barrier Reef is one of the largest coral reefs in the world, making it a must-see destination while visiting Australia. It’s incredibly huge, and is the only landmark that can be seen from space!

The warm water of the reef make it ideal for tourists looking to swim or snorkel around the reef, and the tropical weather definitely appeals to tourists looking for a relaxing vacation.

With hundreds of reefs and islands made of 600 types of coral, this 2,300km-long ecosystem is home to countless marine life, including dolphins, sharks and turtles.

As beautiful as the Reef is, unfortunately environmental problems have caused more amounts of coral to be lost since 1985. The coral bleaching has spread further than thought, but Australians are working hard to do what we can to restore the Reef to its beautiful glory.

Despite the negative environmental problems affecting the Reef, it’s still as beautiful as ever, and still a definitely recommended place to visit while in Australia!

 

Featured photo: Modern Art Prints

2 thoughts on “8 Places In Aus That Will Astound You

Leave a comment